Common Induction Standards

Care worker reading with an individual who needs care and support

The Care Quality Commission's (CQC) Essential Standards of Quality and Safety highlight the importance and value of strong and comprehensive induction. CQC will need to be assured that all staff have undergone thorough training and development.

Skills for Care’s Common Induction Standards (CIS) are the standards people working in adult social care need to meet before they can safely work unsupervised.

The CIS are for people new to social care and those changing roles or employers. They are designed to be met within 12 weeks to enable care workers to demonstrate their understanding of how to provide high quality care and support.

The CIS include standards that are specific to adult social care and ones that are generic to the working environment. They need to be delivered in a context relevant to the service and job role


Each standard contains a number of areas of knowledge that care workers need to know before they can work unsupervised. Managers have a duty to ensure new staff know enough to meet the required outcomes in each knowledge area.

  • Standard 1 - Role of the health and social care worker
  • Standard 2 - Personal development
  • Standard 3 - Communicate effectively
  • Standard 4 - Equality and Inclusion
  • Standard 5 - Principles for implementing duty of care
  • Standard 6 - Principles of safeguarding in health and social care
  • Standard 7 - Person-centred support
  • Standard 8 - Health and safety in an adult social care setting

The eight standards map across to the mandatory units of the health and social care diploma to ensure there is consistency of approach for the workforce. If carried out in depth, they can provide evidence of underpinning knowledge towards the diploma at level 2 or level 3.

Not all workers however will need to complete the full induction standards - for example if they have already completed an induction or have a relevant vocational qualification. Please see the guidance for those responsible for workers for more information.

The following documents are available to download – they are not available in hard copy format:

 The induction standards for care workers and managers have a fire safety element in the health and safety section.

Together with the London Fire Brigade, we have created a fire safety leaflet which highlights relevant standards in both the Common Induction Standards and Manager Induction Standards as well as supporting notes.

A series of case studies have also been produced to highlight ways in which fire deaths can be prevented:

Loading Icon

Please wait... logging you in.