Apprenticeship standards


The new apprenticeship standards are three-page documents listing the skills, knowledge and behaviours needed for the apprentice to be competent in their role.


These have to be assessed throughout and the result graded at the end of the apprenticeship by somebody independent.

An apprenticeship programme must run for a minimum of 12 months and 20% of their training must be delivered off the job (within paid working time). More information on how apprenticeships are delivered can be found on our Delivering apprenticeships page

What are the new standards?

There are four apprenticeships in adult social care:

  • Adult Care Worker (level 2)
  • Lead Adult Care Worker (level 3)
  • Lead Practitioner in Adult Care (level 4) - it's hoped that assessment plans will be available from 1 September 2018.
  • Leader in Adult Care (level 5) - it's hoped that assessment plans will be available from 1 September 2018.


Standards are developed by employer groups known as ‘trailblazers’. We’re supporting the employer groups who have developed these standards and have set up a dedicated email to take enquiries: 

Find out more about the level of training and testing required for each job role.

End Point Assessment

The apprentice has to be assessed at the end, and the result graded. This end-point assessment must be carried out by an organisation independent to the one which trained the apprentice and must be on the Government Register of Apprenticeship Assessment Organisations (RoAAOs). Find out more and download the list of approved Assessment Organisations . The end point assessment of apprenticeships must be externally quality assured by an outside organisation and Skills for Care does this for adult social care. Find out more.

Development of degree apprenticeships

We are currently working on the development of new apprenticeship standards offering a work-based route for registered professionals. The first standard to be developed will be the social worker degree apprenticeship.