New qualifications

The current Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) will be withdrawn to make way for the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) from 1st January 2018. That's only 

Over the next year, the technical regulations that control qualifications will change. 

What’s happening?

The current Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) will be withdrawn to make way for the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) by 1st January 2018. 

What will change?

  • Units will no longer have to be worded exactly the same across different awarding organisations although the content will be a close match.
  • Different awarding organisations may add a particular focus to the content of diplomas and other qualifications for social care.
  • There will be a new emphasis by Ofqual on ensuring awarding organisations keep checking the quality of qualifications as they are delivered.

What’s staying the same?

  • A range of high quality qualifications will still be available to meet the learning needs of those working in social care.
  • Familiar levels and titles will stay for familiar qualifications, such as the awards, certificates and diplomas at levels 2, 3, 4 and 5.
  • Qualifications can still be made up of units, so that learners can progress step by step.
  • We will continue working with awarding organisations to make sure qualifications meet the needs of employers, learners, and most importantly; those accessing care and support.

What do I need to do about this?

Don’t worry! The changes being made at this time are mainly for awarding organisations rather than learners and learning providers.

Nothing will change straight away and social care qualifications will not necessarily change very much as a result, so please continue to use qualifications and apprenticeships just as you do at the moment.

Please note that from January 2018, only RQF qualifications will be available. Awarding organisations are using Skills for Care specifications to develop these new qualifications. See which awarding organisations qualifications we have approved.

Learners who enrol on QCF qualifications prior to January 2018 should continue their study.

The next chapter for vocational qualifications graphic which covers all the above information is here to download

For more detailed information on the new qualifications framework, download our Frequently Asked Questions

The trailblazer group have advised that the revised version of the Leader in Adult Care Apprenticeship standard has been submitted to the Institute for Apprenticeships (IfA) for review and approval. The revisions reflect feedback from stakeholders and requirements from IfA. It’s unlikely to be completed before January which impacts on the planned availability of the standard for delivery from January 2018. Due to this the IfA will not consider the relevant assessment plan.

In order to facilitate a smooth transition to the new standard and ensure continuity of apprenticeship provision at level 5 the current level 5 apprenticeship SASE framework will remain open for new registrations until 31 August 2018.

This has been agreed between Skills for Care, awarding organisations and the adult care trailblazer group.
The registration period for the existing qualification Level 5 Leadership and Management will be extended by all awarding organisations until 31 August 2018 (agreed by the Joint Awarding Body Quality Group - JABQG).

The new Level 5 Diploma in Leadership and Management in Adult Care will be launched on 1 September 2018 by which time the apprenticeship standard assessment plan will be expected to have been published.


Loading Icon

Please wait... logging you in.