Skills for Care

We're working in collaboration with awarding organisations to develop new qualifications needed in the care sector that are high quality, consistent and well understood. 

There are currently six qualifications for adult social care. 


Developing new qualifications

We've developed a process of approval for RQF qualifications against specifications developed by us in consultation with employers and other stakeholders in adult social care. Read the full the process for approval.

If you require further details or clarification on specification criteria please email


Assessment Principles

Create a consistent approach to the assessment of qualifications in the sector and support awarding organisations’ quality assurance processes.


PDF - 322kb

Skills for Care and Skills for Healths set of joint assessment principles which can be used by Awarding Organisations offering the Level 2 Diploma in Care.

PDF - 466kb

Skills for Care & Developments set of assessment principles for use in social care across the UK. Skills for Care will use these principles for all other occupational competence qualifications in the sector.