Apprenticeships today

Apprenticeship standards are three-page documents listing the skills, knowledge and behaviours needed for the apprentice to be competent in their role.

There are four apprenticeships in adult social care:

  • Adult Care Worker (level 2)
  • Lead Adult Care Worker (level 3)
  • Lead Practitioner in Adult Care (level 4)* - in development 
  • Leader in Adult Care (level 5)* - in development

We're unable to provide a definitive timescale for when the Lead Practitioner in Adult Care and the Leader in Adult Care standards will be approved for delivery due to ongoing discussions between the trailblazer group and the Institute for Apprenticeships.

Search for apprenticeship standards

Please note: The Higher Apprenticeship in Care Leadership and Management (level 5) will remain open on the old framework until December 2019. Find out more below.

An apprenticeship programme must run for a minimum of 12 months and 20% of their training must be delivered off the job (within paid working time). The apprentice is assessed throughout and the result is graded at the end of the apprenticeship by somebody independent.

Find out more about the level of training and testing required for each job role.

The standards are developed by employer groups known as ‘trailblazers’. We’re supporting the employer groups who have developed these standards and have set up a dedicated email to take enquiries:


End-Point Assessment

The apprentice has to be assessed at the end, and the result graded. This end-point assessment must be carried out by an organisation independent to the one which trained the apprentice and must be on the Government Register of Apprenticeship Assessment Organisations (RoAAOs). Find out more and download the list of approved Assessment Organisations. The end-point assessment of apprenticeships must be externally quality assured by an outside organisation and Skills for Care does this for adult social care. Find out more about our external quality assurance service.


Higher Apprenticeship in Care Leadership and Management

The only remaining framework is the Higher Apprenticeship in Care Leadership and Management (level 5). This will remain open until 31 December to facilitate a smooth transition to the new level 5 apprenticeship standard which is currently in development. Negotiations on the content of the assessment plan for Leader in Adult Care (level 5) continue with the IfA. We're unable to provide a definitive timescale for when the standard will be approved for delivery.

We issue framework certificates through the Apprentice Certificates England (ACE) system on behalf of Skills for Care and Development (ACE certification body).


Development of degree apprenticeships

We're currently working on the development of new apprenticeship standards offering a work-based route for registered professionals. The first standard to be developed will be the social work degree apprenticeship.

Find out more about the social work apprenticeship


Need any help?

If you want any specific support on apprenticeships please get in touch.