6Cs in social care

A man looking at the camera

The 6Cs are the values which need to underpin the culture and practise of organisations delivering care and support.

We’ve developed a new guide to explain how the 6Cs link to the values, recruitment, qualifications, and leadership frameworks in social care.

What are the 6Cs?

  1. Care
  2. Compassion
  3. Competence
  4. Communication
  5. Courage
  6. Commitment

They underpin Compassion in Practice, the national strategy for nurses, midwives and care staff.

They are immediately identifiable as values which underpin quality social care provision too.

As integration between health and social care continues and increases it is helpful to focus on common values expressed in ways which increase consistency within all aspects of our work, workforce, leadership and organisations.


We also have a grid mapping the 6Cs to:

  • current social care qualifications including the Care Certificate
  • the Code of Conduct for Healthcare Support Workers and Adult Social Care Workers in England
  • the Social Care Commitment.