Care Certificate

Have your say: Care Certificate standards

In partnership with Skills for Health and Health Education England, we’re inviting you to take part in a survey to consider potential updates to the Care Certificate standards.

The survey should take approximately 20 to 30 minutes to complete, and will close at 12:00 on 16 August 2021.

Following evaluation of this survey, recommendations for updates will be made. In the meantime, please continue to use the current standards.

Take the survey


New Care Certificate assessors eLearning course now available

Created in partnership with Health Education England, the Care Certificate assessors eLearning course has been designed to support Care Certificate assessment. The interactive content within the course has been designed to support existing Care Certificate assessors in refreshing their skills, and for those new to assessing. 

Employers can claim £100 from the Workforce Development Fund (WDF) for every employee who successfully completes both sessions, and where WDF eligibility criteria has been met. 

Find out more


New Care Certificate support resources now available

The ‘Tailoring the Care Certificate’ resources have been developed to support workers achieve the minimum standards of the Care Certificate in job roles where more specialist skills are needed. The resources cover:

  • Lone workers
  • Services for people living with dementia
  • Services for people with a learning disability
  • Services for people with mental health conditions
  • Supporting autistic people
  • Supporting people at the end of their life

Find out more 

The Care Certificate is an agreed set of standards that define the knowledge, skills and behaviours expected of specific job roles in the health and social care sectors. It's made up of the 15 minimum standards that should be covered if you are 'new to care' and should form part of a robust induction programme.

The Care Certificate was developed jointly by Skills for Care,  Health Education England and  Skills for Health

The standards

  1. Understand your role
  2. Your personal development
  3. Duty of care
  4. Equality and diversity
  5. Work in a person centred way              
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and dignity
  8. Fluids and nutrition
  9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
  10. Safeguarding adults
  11. Safeguarding children
  12. Basic life support
  13. Health and safety
  14. Handling information
  15. Infection prevention and control

You can find tailored support resources for the Care Certificate here


Important message

We've been made aware of a number of training providers (including e-learning providers) making claims about their products in relation to the Care Certificate.

We'd like to reassure you that such claims are false and have issued a  full statement that we advise everyone reads before putting their staff through the Care Certificate.