Information for employers and registered managers

The Care Certificate: 

  • is the beginning of the career journey for those new to care
  • is a foundation for health and adult social care integration
  • ensures those new to the sector are supported
  • is endorsed by the Care Quality Commission (CQC)
  • is a CQC expectation - all employers should now be offering it.

Although the Care Certificate is designed for new staff, it also offers opportunities for existing staff working at various levels to refresh or improve their knowledge and skills.

If you’re inducting a new manager, take a look at our Manager Induction Standards.

Delivery and assessment

Registered managers have the ultimate responsibility to sign off the Care Certificate, they must be confident that the new worker is competent in their job role. Employers can choose how the Care Certificate is delivered and assessed for example; in-house or by commissioning an external learning provider.

Employers must also be confident that the Care Certificate assessor/trainer is occupationally competent in the standard(s) they are assessing or delivering. To delegate assessment responsibilities you should ask yourself:

  • Do they have a thorough understanding and direct experience in what they are assessing?
  • Are they confident and competent in the skills required to assess in the workplace? (Remember they do not need a formal assessor qualification but some training about the principles of work-based sasess ment to a certain standrd is recommended.)

 A range of resources have been developed to help you implement and assess the Care Certificate. Follow the links below to find out more. 

Discover the Care Certificate workbook


Discover useful resources for the Care Certificate


Important Information:

Skills for Care, Skills for Health and Health Education England have issued a full statement that we advise everyone reads before putting their staff through the Care Certificate.

6Cs in social care

The 6Cs are the values which need to underpin the culture and practise of organisations delivering care and support. They're the personal attributes and behaviours expected of all adult care workers carrying out their roles. 

What are the 6Cs?

  1. Care
  2. Compassion
  3. Competence
  4. Communication
  5. Courage
  6. Commitment

They underpin Compassion in Practice, the national strategy for nurses, midwives and care staff. We’ve developed a guide to explain how the 6Cs link to the Care Certificate.

Download the 6Cs in social care guide